Beginner · Modern Beginner · Modern Recreationist

Aoife inghean Úi Thormaig

Location : Grimfells, Calontir

Category/Level: Modern Recreationist/Beginner

About Aoife: I attended my first event in October ’19. I only got to go to one more before Covid. Sewing is new and intimidating. I learned sewing, weaving, and embroidery just so I could fit in with you all. This project will hopefully be the fancy thing I can wear to court. It will not be easy. I’m already freaking out.

Her Project: I am new to the SCA and am making my kit myself because I can’t afford to buy clothes. I am aiming for pre-Norman Irish Celt because all my friends are Vikings. So, 10th-11th century? I’m not a fancy lady, but I do like to look nice. I’m making a pink underdress (I saw a picture of Mary wearing a pink leine once; Book of Kells, maybe) and a red leine with gold-colored trim out of linen. I will also make a red brat out of a cotton fleece I have, and I’ll try to embroider on it the fox that I hope will one day be on my device. I’ll likely weave some trim for some part of this. For the fourth item, maybe a copper cloak pin?

Layer 1

This is an underdress for this outfit, but I’ll be able to wear it on its own, too. I did underarm gussets, which didn’t turn out quite right, but I feel confident that I can do them better in the future. It’s pink linen, which matches my skin beautifully.

Layer 2

The overdress! It’s just like I had in my head! I had some trouble with the neckline, which was followed by a spectacular meltdown. Several people talked me through how to fix it, and now it’s so much prettier. I wove the trim from cotton thread on cardboard tablets I made. The dress is linen. I’d also like it noted that it didn’t fall apart in the washer.

Layer 3

This is my brat. I don’t know what the fabric is. It’s something Mom had on hand. I wish I’d had more fabric for this, because I feel that it’s a bit small. I did the embroidery on it, which didn’t turn out as pretty as I’d envisioned. But, I’m better at making uniform chain stitches now (though no better at turning corners). This is the layer I stabbed myself on!

Layer 4

I let my friend talk me into a kidney belt for my accessory layer. He helped me draft a pattern and told me how to do everything else, but I did all the work myself. This is veg-tanned cow hide. I used a gel antique for the color and designed the tooled pattern based on a coaster I saw online. I will probably make lucet cord lacing later.

Bonus Points

Intermediate · Modern Recreationist · Modern Recreationist Intermediate

Etaín Dílis ingen Fhinn

Location: College of Yarnvid, Atlantia

Category/Level: Modern Recreationist/Intermediate

About Etain : I’ve been in the SCA since 2003. While I’m not new to sewing, most of my garb is t-tunic style because I’ve mainly done early-period recreation. So, I’ve only done gores once, and I’ve never fitted a bodice. (I’m feeling a bit nervous about those parts.) Otherwise, I’m a jack of all trades. I’ll try anything once. Arts that I excel at include wire weaving, making lucet cord, and drawing celtic knotwork. Currently, I’m trying to improve my skill at tablet weaving, and I’m incorporating that into my project. This project doesn’t tie into my persona, per se. I’ve been wanting to switch from early-period to late-period for awhile, so I don’t have the late-period persona built yet, but I plan to have fun doing it. This is part of my anti-boredom COVID plan.

Her Project: I plan to create an outfit for an upper-class woman from Ireland in the mid-1500s. I’m basing it off of the Shinrone gown and the illustrations by Lucas d’Heere. I’ve wanted to make this for awhile.

Historic Intermediate · Historically Focused · Intermediate

Lady Frithuswith inghean Ui Cremthainn

Location: Westumbria, Calontir

Category/Level: Historically Focused/Intermediate

About Frithuswith: I started in the SCA in 1998. My original name chosen was, Anastasia Elgiva Orpett. in the Kingdom of Atenveldt. I moved to Calontir in 2000. I sew most of my garb as it is less expensive. My main skill is embroidery and beadwork. I do some archery, illumination and have just started doing knife throwing. I enjoy watching fighting and other combat activities. It is enjoyable to see the activities that each person is involved in. It sometimes gets me interested in doing more things.

Her Project: I am doing the research now on the dress. I have done one with the help of a friend, who is in the SCA. We did not do much research, but I do believe it is of my time period. My time period is 14th century Ireland. I do not know at the present about the culture of who would have worn it. We found it online on a site that does medieval clothing. I had one, but gave to my friend as it is now to small for me. Therefore, I am going to make another one that will fit. I will embroider the edges of the lining of the sleeves and the collar with the bear that is part of the device of our Shire.

Intermediate · Modern Recreationist · Modern Recreationist Intermediate

Giles Leabrook

Location: Barony of Politarchopolis, Lochac

Category/Level: Modern Recreationist/Intermediate

About Giles: I have been in the SCA for 35 years and remain an ok at best tailor. I will be doing more hand sewing in this project than all the rest of my sewing combined. I have made costume from Ancient Greek to late Elizabethan, but never this time and place. I prefer to make clothes and not costume, and this project will push that to my limit. I am excited and anticipate some epic failure.

His Project: The outfit is inspired by the portrait of St Matthew in the Book of Kells. Suitable for my current rank as a landed Baron, Irish mens wear from about 800. This suit will be the basis for a capsule wardrobe to attend Lochac’s biggest event – the Rowany Festival. I will eventually need at least 5 days of clothing. I plan on constructing truis (pants), leine (shirt), ionar (jacket), and purchasing historically reasonable accesories. I have wanted to make this clothing for nearly 2 decades, and the “right time” has never come along. This is a moment I have to sieze. much of my guidance comes from this work – https://coblaith.net/EarlyGaelicDress/EarlyGaelicDress12bw.pdf

Bonus Points